Skip to main content

The 7 Chakras

By September 25, 2019December 14th, 2020No Comments
CLASS: Chakra Reset-01

The Seven Chakras are the main energy centers of the body. Think of them as pathways that promote harmony between the body, mind, and spirit. Blocked energy in our seven chakras can lead to distress, so it’s important to understand what each one represents and what we can do to keep it open and flowing freely.

1. Root Chakra

The Root Chakra represents our foundation. It anchors us and gives us the feeling of being grounded. When the root chakra is open, we feel confident in our ability to withstand challenges and stand on our own two feet. When it’s blocked, we feel threatened and unstable.

Location: Base of spine, in tailbone area

Associated Themes & Emotions: Survival issues such as financial independence, money, and food

Balanced: Feel secure, safe, stable, independent, abundant, we feel grounded and belonging.

Unbalanced: Fear of loosing, feeling unsafe, insecure, feeling of not belonging, feeling of not having stability, feeling exhausted, tired, left out, depression.

Unbalanced Physical: Clumsiness, sleep issues, poor circulation, reproductive problems, issues with metabolism

2. Sacral Chakra

The Sacral Chakra helps inform how we relate to our emotions and the emotions of others. An open sacral
chakra also governs creativity and sexual energy.

Location: Lower abdomen, about 2 inches below the navel

Associated Themes & Emotions: Sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure, and sexuality

Balanced: Joy and pleasure in life, sensuality, healthy relationships, balance between feminine and masculine energies, sexuality.

Unbalanced: Guilt, shame, frustration lack of sensuality and sexuality, fear of pleasure, sexual problems, feeling unattractive.

Unbalanced Physical: Lower back pain, infertility/PMS, digestive problems, lack of energy, kidney & gallbladder problems

3. Solar Plexus Chakra

The Solar Plexus Chakra speaks to your ability to be confident and in control of your life. Think back to the last time you had butterflies or felt a pit in the stomach: That’s the Solar Plexus at work.

Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area

Associated Themes & Emotions: Self-worth, self-confidence, and self-esteem

Balanced: Feel in control, confident, strong self esteem, self-worth, know when to surrender and to take action, courage, inner strength.

Unbalanced: Control annd management issues, powerlessness, stubbornness, victim mentality, withdrawal, anger, tension, burned out restlessness, fatigue.

Unbalanced Physical: Indigestion, panic attacks, liver problems, frequent illness, high blood pressure

4. Heart Chakra

The Heart Chakra is one of the most important chakras since it connects the bottom three chakras (associated with materiality) with the top three ones (associated with spirituality). As the name suggests, this chakra can influence our ability to give and receive love—from others and ourselves.

Location: Center of chest, just above the heart

Associated Themes & Emotions: Love, joy, and inner peace

Balanced: Feel loved, compassionate, understanding, empathetic, self-acceptance, forgeiveness, kindness, gratitude.

Unbalanced: Loneliness, grief, sadness, jealousy, codependency, holding grudges, hate, fear, being ungrateful, anger.

Unbalanced Physical: Chronic fatigue, upper back pain, heart related issues, anziety/depression, respiratory ailments

5. Throat Chakra

The Throat Chakra gives voice to the heart chakra and controls our ability to communicate. When it’s functioning at full capacity, it allows us to express ourselves truly and clearly.

Location: Throat

Associated Themes & Emotions: Communication, self-expression, and truth

Balanced: Speak our truth, our needs, thought and desires, self-expression having a sense of inner freedom, goo communication skills

Unbalanced: Inauthenticity, gossiping, judgement, inability to listen, feeling of not being heard, shyness, fear of speaking, social anxiety, arrogance

Unbalanced Physical: Throat problems, neck stiffness, cold symptoms, thyroid imbalances, issues with breathing

6. Third-Eye Chakra

The Third- Eye Chakra speaks to our ability to see the big picture and Connect to intuition. Think of it as the eye of the soul: It registers information beyond the surface level. As we move up the body, we’re getting closer to communion with the divine.

Location: Forehead between the eyes (also called the Brow Chakra)

Associated Themes & Emotions: Intuition, imagination, and wisdom

Balanced: Decisions, open mindedness, we have strong intuition, inner wisdom, manifestation, imagination, visualization

Unbalanced: Directionless, confusion, feeling stuck, denial, dogmatic beliefs, delusion, not being able to see the reality, anxiety, depression

Unbalanced Physical: Ear & eye issues, balance issues, sleep paralysis, learning disabilities, hormone dysfunction

7. Crown Chakra

The Crown Chakra, the highest chakra, represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually. When you fully open your crown chakra, you’re thought to access a higher consciousness—something very few people ever do!

Location: The very top of the head

Associated Themes & Emotions: Inner and outer beauty, spiritual connection.

Balanced: Awareness, connection with ourselves, sense of oneness and wholeness, harmony, clarity, spiritual connection

Unbalanced: Mental fogginess, confusion, disconnection with yourself, limiting beliefs, insomnia, apathy, depression, inability to learn.

Unbalanced Physical: Dizziness, vision issues, memory problems, nervous system imbalances.